Being Erika: TV review

beingerica

Being Erica is one of my Netflix miracles.

I was in the mood for something light and fun, and that’s how I stumbled into an amazing gem of a show.

Being Erica tells the story of thirty-year-old Erica whose life is a disaster, from her non-existent career to her messy love life.  She just got fired from her job at a call center when she meets Dr. Tom, who offers his help to her. Turns out Dr. Tom has the ability to send Erica back in time to change her deepest regrets. But in the end, the past doesn’t matter so much as the present: going back in time gives Erica a chance to learn about who she is and who wants to be in the present, and she slowly but surely builds a life for herself — the life she’s always wanted.

This show has so much heart, it bursts at the seam of every episode. Where most dramas will skim over emotional issues and use cheap twists to excuse poor behavior, or grand gestures to pardon it, Being Erica digs at the heart of those issues to get the why and the how or human nature. Erica herself doesn’t know who she is when we first meet her, but that becomes clearer with every episode.

One of my favorite things about the show is that it’s not afraid of change, much like its main character. Every season of the show throws new challenges at Erica, and sees her embrace new loves and leave behind ones that no longer belong in her life.

I know it’s the way of Canadian shows, but I can’t believe I’d never heard of the show until I found it on Netflix. I already know I’ll be coming back to it many times in the future — when I need cheering up, when I need a good distraction, but also when I need to believe in myself again.

Leave a Reply

