Coffee and New Beginnings

The best things in life are the ones you never see coming.

I spent my summer trying to get over a boy who never deserved my attention to begin with. I’m not one of those people who can ignore feelings as they see fit, so I’ve had to go through the five stages of grief for a relationship that never actually existed.

Little by little, the space he took up in my head grew smaller and smaller. One night, I didn’t want to text him anymore. One day, I didn’t want to see him anymore. Eventually, I didn’t want to think of him altogether.

But he was still the last boy I’d cared about. And if I’m honest with myself… I don’t think I actually moved on until I met someone else I liked – at last.

There was something in the way this guy-who-came-out-of-nowhere’s smile reached all the way up to his eyes, and how easy it was to talk to him, and the surprise of discovering how much I enjoyed his company. Suddenly, I could see a future of possibilities unfolding in front of me.

In the end, it didn’t matter whether he would actually become anything to me in the future. What mattered is that he did what time couldn’t: he finally cleared my head.

Out with the old, in with the new.

Just like that, I was finally free of the weight of a crush that had been dragging me down for weeks. Because in that new boy’s eyes and laughter, I could finally see that the world is full of possibilities, and they’re always within reach. The proof was there, in the chemistry sizzling between us.

I finally remember now: anything is possible.

Leave a Reply

